Select your language close

اليوم العالمي لمانح نخاع العظم: طفل كويتي يحظى بفرصة جديدة في الحياة بعد إجرائه عملية لزرع نخاع العظم في مستشفى لندني

Salem at hospital during the Superhope campaign
Salem at hospital during the Superhope campaign

يقترب «اليوم العالمي لمانح نخاع العظم» الذي يحتفل به سنويًا في 15 سبتمبر، وبهذه المناسبة، تريد أم كويتية أن يتعرف الناس في الكويت والمنطقة بصورة أكبر على عمليات زراعة نخاع العظم، وتدعو إلى تبرعهم بنخاع العظم إن أمكنهم ذلك. إنها أم سالم التي خاضت تجربة تنازع فيها الأمل مع اليأس بسبب مرض ابنها سالم -الصبي الكويتي الذي يبلغ من العمر 14 عامًا- ثم تماثله للشفاء بعد أجريت له في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت للأطفال في لندن عملية لزرع نخاع العظم أنقذت حياته.

وشرحت أم سالم فقالت «سافرت مع ابني إلى مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت للأطفال في لندن لأننا أبواب العلاج سدت في وجوهنا في الكويت، وأخبرنا الأطباء بأن الأمل في تحسن حالته مفقود، والحقيقة أنني فقدت حينها الأمل في شفائه تقريبًا لكن مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت للأطفال في لندن تمكن من إنقاذ حياته، وأشعر الآن كثيرًا بالتأثر والعرفان بالجميل.»

كان سالم يعاني من مرض سرطان الدم الليمفاوي الحادّ، وتفاقم مرضه حين انتكست حالته خلال معالجته بالأساليب التقليدية ثم نقل لاحقًا إلى مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت للأطفال في لندن الذي يعالج فيه 1500 طفل كل عام من الشرق الأوسط. وسمحت عملية زرع نخاع العظم التي أجريت لسالم في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت تعريضه لجرعة عالية من العلاج الكيميائي لتدمير خلاياه السرطانية، خاصة أن العلاج الكيميائي بجرعة عالية يدمر أيضًا الخلايا السليمة في نخاع العظم. وتعيد عملية زرع نخاع العظم إلى المريض الخلايا المسؤولة عن صنع الخلايا الجذعية، ومن خلال إعطاء سالم الخلايا الجذعية من متبرع من غير أقاربه تمكن نخاع العظم لديه بالتعافي من العلاج الكيميائي المكثف. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الخلايا الجذعية تتحول إلى أنواع مختلفة من خلايا الدم، ويشمل هذا تحولها إلى خلايا الدم الحمراء اللازمة لنقل الأكسجين إلى جميع أعضاء الجسم، وخلايا الدم البيضاء لمكافحة الجراثيم، والصفائح الدموية المفيدة في وقف النزيف.

وأشرف على علاج سالم البروفسور بول فايس مدير وحدة زرع نخاع العظم في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في لندن، والبروفيسور فايس اختصاصي مشهور عالميًا في عمليات زرع نخاع العظم، وأوضح أهمية توسيع أعداد المسجلين كمانحين لنخاع العظام لدى الجهات المعنية، فقال «"ترتبط مطابقة الأنسجة بين المريض والمانح ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالعِرق، ويوجد حاليًا قليل من المانحين العرب المسجلين في هذا المجال ولهذا من المهم جدًا أن نوسع عدده المسجلين لدى الجهات المانحة من جميع الخلفيات العرقية كي نزيد فرص العثور على متبرعين مطابقين للمرضى من الشرق الأوسط.»

وأصبحت والدة سالم بعد تجربة ابنها في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت من المدافعين بحماس عن التبرع بنخاع العظم وزيادة وعي الناس بأهميته في الكويت، وقالت «التبرع بنخاع العظم ينقذ حياة الناس، وأنقذ ذلك حياة ابني فعلًا، ولهذا أريد أن أشجع الناس في بلادي على التعرف أكثر على التبرع بنخاع العظم وأن يفهموا سبب أهميته. للأسف، لا يعرف معظم الناس في الكويت عن هذا الموضوع المهم فلم يتحدث أحد عنه على نطاق واسع، وأرى أنني أستطيع العمل في هذا الاتجاه فعلًا.»

وتؤيد ليندسي يونغ، الممرضة الاختصاصية في عمليات زرع نخاع العظام في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في لندن، جهود أم سالم، وتريد أيضًا تغيير المفاهيم الخاطئة بأن التبرع بنخاع العظم عملية مؤلمة، وأوضحت ليندسي «هذا ليس صحيحًا على الإطلاق، فجمع الخلايا الجذعية يجرى حاليًا بطريقتين إما عبر جمع الخلايا الجذعية المحيطة في الدم أو من خلال حصادها من نخاع العظام، ويحدث عادة حصاد نخاع العظام تحت التخدير العام وغالبا ما تحتاج إلى يوم واحد أو البقاء في المستشفى لليلة واحدة. ولأنها تجرى تحت التخدير العام فلن تشعر بأي ألم أثناء العملية لكنك قد تشعر بنوع من الكدمات الطفيفة في المنطقة والتعب لبضعة أيام بعدها. أما طريقة جمع الخلايا الجذعية المحيطة في الدم فتتم مباشرة من وريد كبير وتتطلب سلسلة من الحقن لدفع الخلايا الجذعية للتكاثر في مجرى الدم، وقد يشعر بعض الأشخاص بأعراض شبيهة بأعراض الأنفلونزا من الحقن لكن هذه الأعراض تبقى خفيفة وتذهب خلال بضعة أيام.»

ساعدت ليندسي سالم وعائلته أثناء علاجه، ورشحت سالم للمشاركة في حملة سوبرهوب، وهي حملة حماسية تهدف إلى تعزيز الموقف العقلي الإيجابي (PMA) للأطفال المصابين بالسرطان والتي ستتطلق رسميا في 1 أكتوبر وقالت «مر سالم برحلة طبية طويلة حقًا في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت بدأت من العام 2013 وبلغت ذروتها مع عملية زرع نخاع العظم في العام 2017. رشحت سالم للمشاركة في سوبرهوب لأنني رأيت أن هذا سيتيح له فرصة لفعل شيء غير طبي وينغمس حقًا في ألعاب الطفولة العادية. شعرت بسعادة غامرة للأفكار التي قدمها في هذه الحملة وعلمت أنه سيكسب خبرة كثيرة.»

Select your language close

World Marrow Donor Day: Kuwaiti boy given second chance after receiving life-saving bone marrow transplant at London hospital

Salem at hospital during the Superhope campaign
Salem at hospital during the Superhope campaign

On World Marrow Donor Day, a Kuwaiti mother is urging people in Kuwait and the region to learn about bone marrow transplants (BMT) and to become donors where possible. This comes after her son Salem, a 14-year-old Kuwaiti boy, had his life saved after visiting Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children in London (GOSH) for a bone marrow transplant.

“I brought my son to GOSH because we weren’t able to receive further treatment in Kuwait and doctors were saying there was no more hope,” Salem’s mother explains. “I almost lost hope but GOSH saved his life. I feel so emotional and grateful.”

Salem suffered from Acute Lymphoblastic Leukaemia which had relapsed through standard treatment and was subsequently transferred to London hospital, GOSH, which treats 1,500 children from the Middle East every year. The bone marrow transplant (BMT), conducted at GOSH, allowed the hospital to give Salem high-dose chemotherapy to destroy his cancerous cells. However, the high dose chemotherapy also destroys the healthy cells inside the bone marrow. The bone marrow transplant (BMT) is important as it is responsible for making stem cells. By giving Salem stem cells from a healthy unrelated donor, this allowed the bone marrow to recover from the intensive treatment. Stem cells can turn into different types of blood cells. This includes red blood cells to carry oxygen around the body, white blood cells to fight infection, and platelets to help stop bleeding.

Professor Paul Veys, Director of the Bone Marrow Transplant Unit at Great Ormond Street Hospital in London (GOSH), treated Salem. Professor Veys is an internationally renowned expert in BMT and he explains the importance of expanding registries with bone marrow donors.

“Tissue matching is closely linked with ethnicity and Arabs are under-represented on the donor panels. It is therefore vital that we expand the registries with donors from all types of ethnic background so that the chance of finding a matched donor can be improved particularly for patients from the Middle East,” explains Professor Veys.

Since her time at GOSH, Salem’s mother has become a passionate advocate of bone marrow donation and increasing people’s awareness of its importance in Kuwait. “Bone marrow donation saves people’s lives. It saved my son’s life. I want to encourage people back home in becoming more educated about bone marrow donation and understand why it is so important. Unfortunately, people are not aware in Kuwait as it’s not really talked about. I am really ready to contribute here.”

Like Salem’s mother, Lindsey Young, Bone Marrow Transplant Clinical Nurse Specialist at GOSH, also wants to tackle misconceptions that blood marrow donations are painful. “This is not the case at all”, explains Lindsey.  “Stem cells can be collected in two ways either through peripheral blood stem cell (PBSc) or bone marrow harvest. Bone marrow harvests are usually carried out under general anaesthetic (GA) and are often a day case or overnight stay in hospital. As they are performed under GA you don’t feel any pain during the procedure but might feel slightly bruised at the area and tired for a few days following it. Alternatively, PBSc are collected directly from a large vein and involves a series of injections to make the stem cells multiply into the bloodstream. Some people report flu-like symptoms from the injections, but these are usually mild and go within a few days.”

Lindsey worked with Salem and his family during his treatment and nominated Salem to take part in Superhope; an exciting campaign designed to promote Positive Mental Attitude (PMA) for children with cancer which will be officially launched on October 1st. “Salem has had a really long medical journey at GOSH starting in 2013 and cumulating in a BMT in 2017. I nominated Salem to take part in Superhope as I thought this would give him a chance to do something non-medical and really immerse himself back into normal childhood play. I was really excited to see what he had come up with and knew he would gain so much from the experience.”

Browse A-Z