Select your language close

علاج رائدة للقلب ينقذ حياة طفل إماراتي

قصة عمر

ولد عُمر مبكرًا في الأسبوع 30 من مدة الحمل به، وكان يعاني من نقص النمو وانخفاض الوزن عند الولادة. واكتشف الأطباء أيضًا أنه مولود بمرض خَلقي نادر في القلب يدعى «متلازمة شون؛» أي أنه يعاني من عيوب في البطين الأيسر من قلبه.

خضع عمر لعملية جراحية أولية بهدف معالجة هذا العيب، لكن ذلك أدى إلى مضاعفات أخرى اضطرت الأطباء إلى إبقائه في وحدة العناية المركّزة لحديثي الولادة ليبقى تحت الرعاية اليومية مع اعتماده على جهاز التنفس الاصطناعي عدة أشهر حتى ينمو. لكن حالة عمر الصحية كانت تحتاج إلى علاج متخصص، فنقل إلى مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في لندن. وهو مستشفى يعالج أكثر من 1500 طفل من الشرق الأوسط كل عام يعانون من حالات طبية نادرة ومعقدة.

تولي الإشراف على حالة عمر في المستشفى البريطاني الدكتور روبرت ييتس، الاستشاري والمحاضر الفخري في أمراض القلب لدى الأطفال والأجنة، وحين وصل الطفل الإماراتي إلى المستشفى في لندن كان وزنه 3.2 كيلوغرامات وكان يعاني من عدة مضاعفات تشمل أمراض الرئة المزمنة وارتفاع ضغط الدم الرئوي واعتلال الشبكية الخداجي.

أجريت لعمر عملية أولية في القلب بُعيْد وصوله إلى المستشفى مباشرة، لكن بعد ثمانية أسابيع من دخوله المستشفى في المملكة المتحدة، تطلبت حالته إجراء عملية قلبية أخرى لمعالجة ضعف تحسن حالته سريريًا، وحدوث حالات تضيق الصمام التاجي المتكرر للقلب.

صغير جدًا على عملية استبدال الصمام التاجي

وأوضح الدكتور ييتس «لم يكن أمامنا حل آخر غير استبدال الصمام التاجي لكن عُمر كان صغيرًا جدًا على استخدام صمام ميكانيكي في قلبه، فاخترنا حلًا بديلًا باستخدام صمام ذو دعامة معدل. وتطلب الأمر تعديل الصمام ليناسب مقاس عمر الصغير، ومكانه غير المعتاد في القلب، فضلًا عن وضعه رأسًا على عقب. ويؤدي استخدام هذا الصمام إلى تجنب استخدام مميع الدم ويتيح توسيعه لاحقًا بصورة متدرجة ليواكب نمو الطفل.»

وأضاف «ابتكر الأطباء في جريت أورموند ستريت في لندن التقنية الرائدة الأصلية لجراحة القلب منذ أكثر من 15 عامًا وأصبحت اليوم منتشرة ومستخدمة في جميع أنحاء العالم. وهي تقنية تتيح للأطباء زرع صمامات القلب الرئوية الجديدة دون فتح صدر المريض. وما زال فريق المستشفى يعمل على تحسين هذه التقنية وتعديلها، وهو يستخدم اليوم صمام القلب ذو الدعامة لتحل محل الصمام التاجي في الأطفال الصغار من أقران عمر. وهو أول مريض إماراتي نقدم له هذا العلاج.»

ويشارك الدكتور ييتس حاليًا في معرض الصحة العربي في دبي ليقدم محاضرة عن أحدث خبراته في طب قلب الأطفال.

أجريت لاحقًا لعُمر جراحة لاحقة للعيون بالليزر من أجل معالجة إصابته بمرض العين الخطير المسمى «اعتلال الشبكية الخداجي روب،» وأنقذت العملية الجراحية البصر لديه. واستكمل الأطباء أنبوب التغذية الذي أدخل سابقًا في معدته بإجراء جراحي إضافي، يدعى «عملية نيسن لطي المعدة» من أجل تقليل ارتجاع الطعام من معدته ومساعدته على زيادة وزن، وأجريت له أيضًا عملية لإصلاح الفتق الإربي.

وخلال مرحلة نقاهة عمر، اكتشف إصابة والدته بسرطان عنق الرحم، لكنها استمرت على الرغم من ذلك قوية في مجابهة مرضها كي تتابع دعم عمر، وخضعت لعملية جراحية لمعالجتها وتابعت كفاحها من أجل وليدها.

وقالت «كان مستوى القلق والخوف يرتفع جدًا على عمر كلما خضع لعملية جديدة، فجميع العمليات تنطوي على المخاطر، وهذا شعور طبيعي للآباء والأمهات. لكننا نبقى باستمرار متمسكون بالأمل الكبير. وساعدنا الدكتور ييتس دائمًا على الاطمئنان من أن عمر سوف يحظى بأفضل رعاية طبية ممكنة، ونحن ممتنون كثيرًا لمن ساعدنا في تلقي العلاج في الخارج، وعلى رأسهم نشكر سمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، ثم شرطة دبي وهيئة الصحة في دبي وسفارة الإمارات في لندن الذين كان الفضل في تمكننا من الحصول على هذا العلاج لإنقاذ حياة ابننا. ولا ننسى أن نشكر السيدة أمل القبيسي على دعمها لنا طوال وجودنا في لندن، فهي تبذل جهودًا مخلصة لتكفل للمواطنين الإماراتيين أفضل علاج في لندن. بارك الله بهم جميعًا.»

قرر الأطباء إطالة أمد نقاهة عمر في المستشفى اللندني وتطلب منهم رعاية شاملة معقدة شارك فيها أطباء من تخصصات متعددة، وشمل ذلك العلاج الطبيعي وعلاج الكلام واللغة، والعلاج باللعب. وهكذا تابع والداه رحلة الكفاح من أجل حياة ابنهما، فضلًا عن عناية مكثفة من الموظفين في وحدة العناية المركزة في القلب، وجناحي فلامنغو وهيدجهوج في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في لندن، وتكلل كل ذلك بالنجاح، فحالة عمر اليوم جيدة ومستقرة.

أمل بالمستقبل

ينظر والد عمر للمستقبل بأمل وتفاؤل كبيرين وقال «لدى جميع الآباء والأمهات أمل كبير بمستقبل أطفالهم. وأملنا لعمر أن يبقى قويًا بصحة جيدة ويكبر ليعيش حياة طبيعية وسعيدة ومنتجة معتمدًا على ذاته، وأن يستطيع الذهاب إلى المدرسة ويتخرج في الجامعة ويجد وظيفة جيدة ويكون عائلة في المستقبل.» 

واختتمت والدة عمر قائلة «أريد فقط أن أقول لجميع الآباء والأمهات الذين يعانون من مشكلات مشابهة لمشكلات ابني، لا تمتنع أبدًا عن طلب المساعدة، وحافظ على نظرتك المتفائلة وآمالك الكبيرة، حتى عندما يعلمك الناس بأخبار سيئة أو يقولون لك كلمات سلبية. نحن الآباء والأمهات لا ننسحب بل نواصل الكفاح للحصول على حقوقنا حتى إن كان ذلك في نهاية الرحلة...الله يستجيب دائمًا إلى أخلص الدعاء.أأخ استمع دائمًا إلى قلبك وتابع الدعاء في كل ثانية وكل دقيقة وكل ساعة وكل يوم حتى يستجيب الله كل دعواتك.»

 

نبذة عن علاجات أمراض القلب في مستشفى جريت أورموند للأطفال في لندن

مستشفى جريت أورموند للأطفال في لندن رائد على مستوى العالم في علاج الأطفال المصابين بأمراض قلب خَلقية. وأجرى فريق معالجة أمراض القلب في المستشفى أكثر من 500 عملية زراعة رئوية وقلبية منذ افتتاح وحدة القلب فيه. المستشفى رائد أيضًا في عمليات الاستبدال غير الجراحي لصمامات القلب الرئوية، وله دور رائد في تطوير العلاجات غير الجراحية لأمراض القلب الأخرى.

الدكتور روبرت يتس

طبيب استشاري ومحاضر أعلى فخري في أمراض الأطفال والأمراض القلبية لدى الأجنة

ضمن مشفى غريت أورموند ستريت فإن الدكتور يتس هو واحد من أربعة استشاريين في قسم تصوير الأجنة بالموجات فوق الصوتية. هذا القسم يُجري تقريباً 2000 تصويراً بالموجات فوق الصوتية للأجنة كل سنة. ومن بين كل العمليات الجراحية التي تُجرى لحديثي الولادة فإن حوالي 40- 50 % منها تقريباً قد يكون لديه عيوب قلبية تم الكشف عنها قبل الولادة. ينسق الطبيب يتس عن قرب مع وحدات الطب الجنيني وحديثي الولادة بهدف تعزيز القدرة على تحسين الكشف المبكر عن الأمراض القلبية قبل الولادة ولرفع مستوى الرعاية ما بعد الولادة للصغار الذين وُلِدوا بمشاكل قلبية.

الطبيب يتس أيضاً هو واحد من ثلاثة أطباء قلبية يعملون في مشفى غريت أورموند ستريت ويقوم بعدد واسع ومتتنوع من الإجراءات التشخيصة والتدخلات والقسطرة القلبية للمرضى الأطفال. كان فريقه رائداً في تطوير زرع القسطرة في الصمامات الرئوية والتي أصبحت الآن تقنية معترف بها ومعتمدة في كل أنحاء العالم.

سيد روبرت هندرسون

استشاري جراحة العيون

يعمل السيد / روبرت هندرسون كاستشاري في جراحة العيون عند الأطفال في قسم أمراض العيون. ويعتبر واحدا من ثلاثة جراحين مكرسين لإجراء الجراحات على الزجاج الشبكي عند الأطفال في المملكة المتحدة. تشتمل خبرته على كيفية معالجة الاعتلال العائلي في زجاج الشبكية النضحي FEVR ومرض كوتس (التهاب الشبكية النضحي) وسلس الصباغ واعتلال الشبكية عند الأطفال الخدج وحالات انفصال الشبكية المعقدة.

كما يعمل أيضا كطبيب عيون الأطفال ويقدم آراءه حول الحثل العضلي الشبكي الوراثي ويجري عمليات جراحية لعلاج إعتام عدسة العين المعقد بما في ذلك المضاعفات المتعلقة بالصدمات العينية والتهاب القزحية.

يعمل بصفته طبيب عيون على نحو مشترك بين مستشفى غريت اورموند ستريت ومستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون.

Select your language close

Pioneering heart procedure saves Emirati baby’s life

Omar and mum in the Disney Reef at GOSH
Omar and mum in the Disney Reef at GOSH

Omar’s story

Omar was born premature at just 30 weeks with growth restriction and low birthweight. He was found to have Shone’s complex; a rare congenital heart disease which means he has defects in the left side of his heart.

He underwent an initial surgery to fix this problem, which resulted in complications which meant Omar had to stay in a local Neonatal Intensive Care Unit receiving daily care and dependent on a ventilator for months so he could grow. With Omar needing specialist treatment, he was transferred to Great Ormond Street Hospital in London (GOSH), which treats over 1,500 children from the Middle East every year for rare and complex conditions.

At GOSH, Omar was under the care of Dr Robert Yates, Consultant and Honorary Lecturer in Peadiatric and Fetal Cardiology at GOSH. Omar arrived at the London-based hospital only weighing 3.2KG and had complications including chronic lung disease, pulmonary hypertension, retinopathy of prematurity (ROP).

Omar had an initial heart operation soon after he arrived at the hospital but within 8 weeks of Omar’s arrival in UK a further cardiac operation was needed to address poor clinical progress and recurrent mitral valve stenosis- a narrowing of the heart’s mitral valve.

Too small for mitral valve replacement

“Mitral valve replacement was our only option but as Omar was too small for a mechanical valve, we opted for a modified stented valve as an alternative. We needed to modify the valve for his size, its novel position in the heart, as well as putting the valve upside down. This valve would avoid the use of blood thinners and allowed for subsequent dilatation of the stented valve as he grows bigger,” explains Dr Yates.

“The original cardiac surgery technique was pioneered over 15 years ago by GOSH and is now used all over the world. The technique allows doctors to implant new pulmonary heart valves without opening up the patient’s chest. Since its introduction, GOSH has worked to adapt and evolve the technique and now use the same stent mounted heart valve to replace the mitral valve in small babies, such as Omar. Omar is the first Emirati patient to ever receive this treatment,” continues Dr Yates.

Omar also received subsequent laser eye surgery for a serious eye disease called ROP, a surgery that saved his eyesight. "Omar developed significant problems with his eyes. He was treated locally for ROP but after transfer to GOSH he was found to have tractional retinal detachment in his right eye." Mr Rob Henderson, Consultant Ophthalmologist, explains. "We performed an endoscopic vitrectomy and were able to relieve the scar tissue. Without this procedure it was very likely Omar would have lost vision in his right eye." 

His previous gastronomy insertion was supplemented by an additional surgical procedure, called Nissen’s fundoplication, to improve his reflux and help with weight gain, and he also had an inguinal hernia repair.

Omar's recovery 

My husband and I were absolutely worried and afraid during each procedure Omar had. All operations pose risks, so I guess it’s a normal feeling for parents to be worried. We try to always keep a very high optimism. Dr. Yates always made us feel that he will take care of Omar the very best way he can. We are very blessed to have the opportunity to be able to get treatment abroad,” said Omar’s mum. “We give thanks to H.H. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid al Maktoum, Dubai Police, Dubai Health Authority, and the UAE Embassy in London for giving us the opportunity to get this life saving treatment for our son. We also want to thank Ms. Amal Al Qubaisi for her support throughout our stay, and her hard work to ensure Emiratis get the best treatment while in London. God bless them all.”

Omar’s recovery was prolonged and required complex holistic care involving multiple specialties, as well as physiotherapy, speech and language therapy, and play therapy. As a result of his parents continuing to fight for their son, as well as the hard work of the staff both in the cardiac intensive care unit, and Flamingo and Hedgehog wards at GOSH, Omar is now doing well.

Return to GOSH six months later 

Omar and his mother recently returned to GOSH for a further cardiac operation and a check-up on his progress including reviews on his lungs, gastrostomy and eyes. 

"Omar came back from the UAE primarily to undergo a cardiac catheter intervention procedure. The stented valve that we had placed into the mitral position during his previous admission 18 months ago was now too small as he had grown considerably during that time." Dr Yates explains. "Whilst he was here, he was also seen by a number of other professionals to attend to his complex needs." 

"Omar is doing really well given his difficult start." Mr Henderson says. "He has gone from a child with limited to vision to displaying real visual behaviour." 

Omar today 

"Omar is a very adorable boy. He's very sweet and sassy!" Omar's mum says. "I never expected him to be able to do all that he is achieving because of his complex condition. He is good at playing and acting. He loves playing with noisy toys."

He’s a very different boy now compared to last year. He’s making a big difference cognitively and socially and has improved since the last time he was here. It is a totally different Omar, he is more involved in his surroundings and he is more sociable to people around him. That’s why people adore him so much. He gives back the emotions, like kissing and cuddles. He’s a very bubbly and happy boy, considering what he has. I’m so blessed to have him.”

Omar with Dr Yates
Omar with Dr Yates
Omar in the Disney Reef at GOSH

About Cardiology at GOSH

GOSH has led global advances in treating children born with cardiac conditions. The cardiac team at GOSH have conducted more than 500 lung and heart transplants since the cardiac unit opened, have pioneered non-surgical replacement of pulmonary heart valves, and play a leading role in developing alternatives to surgery for other heart conditions.

Dr Robert Yates

Consultant and Honorary Senior Lecturer in Paediatric and Fetal Cardiology

Dr Robert Yates undertook his undergraduate medical training in South Africa, graduating in Johannesburg before coming to the UK in 1989. After basic training in Paediatrics his postgraduate training in Paediatric Cardiology was undertaken in London. Appointed as a consultant at Great Ormond Street Hospital (GOSH) in 1999, Dr Yates is also a frequent visiting consultant to a number of overseas hospitals.

At GOSH, Dr Yates is one of four consultants in the fetal echo department. This service undertakes approximately 2,000 fetal echo’s annually and of all the neonatal operations, some 40-50% will have had cardiac abnormalities detected prenatally. Dr Yates liaises closely with affiliated fetal medicine and neonatal units to promote improved detection of cardiac disease prenatally and to optimize perinatal care for babies delivered with cardiac problems.

Dr Yates is also one of three interventional cardiologists working at GOSH undertaking diagnostic and a wide range of interventional cardiac catheterization procedures in paediatric patients. His team pioneered the development of transcatheter implantation of pulmonary valves which is now an established technique worldwide.

Mr Robert Henderson

Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon

Mr Robert Henderson is a Consultant Paediatric Ophthalmic Surgeon who works in the Ophthalmology department. He is one of only three dedicated paediatric vitreoretinal surgeons in the country and his expertise includes the management of FEVR, Coats disease, Incontinentia Pigmenti and Retinopathy of Prematurity as well as complex retinal detachments.

He is also a paediatric ophthalmologist and provides opinions for inherited retinal dystrophies; he operates on complex cataract including trauma and uveitis related complications.
Browse A-Z