Select your language close

مستشفى في لندن يساعد في تحسين حياة فتاة بحرينية تعاني من مرض نادر

كتب لفتاة بحرينية عمر جديد بعد تلقيها العلاج في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في لندن من مرض فرط نقص سكر الدم.

ولدت سارة بمتلازمة ضخامة النمو المركب الخلقية التي تدعى متلازمة بكوث-فيدمان، التي تحدث بنسبة تبلغ حالة واحدة من 15000 مولود. وأبرز أعراضها الشائعة ضخامة النمو وعدم التناظر في النمو وكبر اللسان وانخفاض مستوى الجلوكوز في الدم وعيوب في جدار البطن.  وكان لدى سارة كانت فرط شديد في نقص سكر الدم، وهو أحد الأعراض المعروفة المقترنة بهذه المتلازمة.

فرط نقص سكر الدم حالة معقدة جدًا تتسبب بنقص حاد في سكر الدم لدى حديثي الولادة والرضّع والطفولة. ولعلاج حالة سارة نقلت من البحرين إلى مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في لندن الذي يعالج 1500 طفل من الشرق الأوسط سنويًا.

وشرح الدكتور براتيك شاه، استشاري الغدد الصماء لدى الأطفال في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت، فقال «يجب أن تبقى مستويات الجلوكوز (السكر) في جسمك ثابتة في نطاق معين حتى يعمل الدماغ بصورة جيدة، فهو يحتاج إلى السكر ليعمل عملًا طبيعيًا، ويشبه ذلك حاجة السيارات إلى البنزين كي تسير. وينتج البنكرياس -وهو عضو صغير في البطن- عدة هرمونات تعمل على المحافظة على مستوى الجلوكوز في الدم ثابتًا، منها الأنسولين والجلوكاجون والسوماتوستاتين. لكن البنكرياس في بعض الأطفال، ينتج كميات ضخمة غير طبيعية من الأنسولين ما يتسبب في انخفاض مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم. ويسمى هذا فرط نقص سكر الدم.»


بعد أن تأكد الأطباء في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت من صحة تشخيص سارة بمرض فرط نقص سكر الدم، بدأ علاجها بأدوية إيقاف إنتاج الأنسولين. إلا أنها لم تكن تستجيب للعلاج الطبي. ولهذا قرر الأطباء إجراء عملية تصوير للبنكرياس، فلاحظ الأطباء وجود كيس بنكرياسي كبير غير طبيعي على بطنها وبنكرياسها، وظن الأطباء في البداية أنه ورم عليه. ولهذا أجروا تصويرًا للبنكرياس يسمى 18F-DOPA PET، وهي تقنية تصوير خاصة تنتج صورًا دقيقة جدًا ثلاثية الأبعاد للبنكرياس.


وأوضح الدكتور شاه أن نتيجة التصوير أكدت بأن لدى سارة «آفة كيسية كبيرة على رأس البنكرياس، وأنها مصابة بنموذج حاد من فرط الأنسولينية. وبعد أن اجتمع لدراسة الحالة فريق متعدد التخصصات يضم جراحًا، وطبيب أشعة، وطبيب أورام، وأنا، أوصينا بإجراء جراحة لإزالة تلك الآفة من رأس البنكرياس. وبعد إجراء تلك العملية أصبحت حالة نقص السكر في الدم أكثر اعتدالًا، وبإمكاننا الآن السيطرة عليه عبر أنبوب الطعام والأدوية المناسبة.»


وأضاف البروفيسور دي كوبي الذي كان رئيس فريق الجراحة «كانت سارة تعاني من آفة نادرة جدًا في زاوية شديدة الخطورة من البنكرياس، وهي المنطقة التي تندمج فيها معًا الأوعية الدموية المغذية للأمعاء والكبد والبنكرياس. كانت الجراحة صعبة جدًا لكننا سعداء كثيرًا أنها نجحت وأن سارة تتعافى منها سريعًا. ولا بد من الإشادة بالخبرات المتقدمة التي يتمتع بها فريق مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت، فبفضلها أمكننا تجاوز تحدي هذه العملية الجراحية الصعبة.»


أقامت سارة في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت لمدة عام وثلاثة أشهر لعلاج المشكلات الناجمة عن إصابتها بشدة نقص السكر في الدم في الأعوام الأولى من حياتها. وتطلبت حالتها تعاون فريق متعدد التخصصات من الأطباء في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت، وتعاونوا أيضًا على حالتها مع متخصصين من المستشفيات الأخرى.


وأنهى د. شاه حديثه بالقول «خرجت سارة من المستشفى وحالتها مستقرة حاليًا من ناحية مستوى جلوكوز الدم. وهي تعيش اليوم في وطنها في البحرين وتستجيب جيدًا للتغذية المنتظمة عن طريق أنبوب الفم/المعدة. سيستمر مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في متابعة تحسن حالة سارة لعلاج القضايا الأخرى الناجمة عن متلازمة فرط نموها. ولديها موعد لمراجعة الأطباء في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت خلال الشهور الستة المقبلة. وعلى الرغم من أن طريقها نحو الشفاء الكامل ما زال طويلاً، إلا أن المستقبل يبدو حاليًا أكثر إشراقاً بالنسبة لسارة وأسرتها.

نبذة عن الدكتور براتيك شاه

درس الدكتور شاه طب الأطفال العام والغدد الصماء لدى الأطفال في المملكة المتحدة وأكمل شهادة الدكتوراه في مجال فرط الأنسولينية الخلقي، ولديه اليوم خبرة لأكثر من 15 عامًا في طب الأطفال. نشر الدكتور شاه العديد من المقالات في المجلات العملية المحكمة في مجال فرط الأنسولينية الخلقي، وقدم العديد من المحاضرات في هذا المجال في الاجتماعات العالمية والوطنية. ويتعاون بنشاط مع مجموعات دعم الآباء (في المملكة المتحدة أو العالم) لتعزيز الوعي والمعرفة بهذه الحالة. يساعد الدكتور شاه فريق أبحاث في معهد جريت أورموند ستريت لصحة الطفل، بهدف إجراء أبحاث نوعية في مجال تخصصه.

نبذة عن خدمة فرط الأنسولينية الخلقي

هي خدمة متخصصة في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت في المملكة المتحدة، وهي علاج معترف به دوليًا للسيطرة على نقص سكر الدم نتيجة فرط الأنسولينية. يرأس الدكتور شاه فريق خدمة فرط الأنسولينية الخلقي، ويضم الفريق متعدد التخصصات أطباء، وممرضات اختصاصيات في فرط الأنسولينية، واختصاصيي تغذية، ومعالجين للكلام واللغة، وعلماء نفس، وأطباء أشعة، وجراحين، واختصاصيين في علم الأنسجة، واختصاصيين في الكيمياء الحيوية.

Select your language close

London-based hospital gives new lease of life to Bahraini girl suffering from rare condition

A young girl from Bahrain has been given a new lease of life after receiving treatment from Great Ormond Street Hospital in London (GOSH) for hyperinsulinaemic hypoglycaemia (HH).

Sarah was born with a congenital complex overgrowth syndrome called Beckwith-Wiedemann syndrome, which occurs in about 1 in 15,000 births. The most common symptoms are overgrowth, asymmetry of growth, large tongue, low blood glucose and abdominal wall defects. Sarah had severe HH, which is one of the known associations of this syndrome.

HH is a very complex condition that causes severe hypoglycaemia (low blood sugar) in the neonatal, infancy and childhood period. To treat her condition, Sarah was transferred from Bahrain to GOSH in London, which treats 1,500 children from the Middle East every year.

Dr Pratik Shah, Consultant Paediatric Endocrinologist at GOSH, explains, “Glucose (sugar) levels in your body need to be steady so that the brain can function well, as it needs sugar for it to run smoothly, just like a car needing petrol. The pancreas is a small organ in the abdomen that produces various hormones like insulin, glucagon, somatostatin which keeps your blood glucose level steady. In some children, the pancreas produces too much insulin that causes low blood glucose levels. This is called hyperinsulinaemic hypoglycaemia.”

When HH was confirmed by doctors at GOSH, Sarah was initially given treatment to stop insulin production. However, Sarah was not responding to medical therapy. After undergoing a scan, doctors noticed a very unusual large pancreatic cyst on her abdomen and pancreas, initially thought to be a tumour on Sarah’s pancreas.

Sarah then went on to have more detailed scan of the pancreas providing very detailed, three-dimensional images of the body.

Explaining the results, Dr Shah said, “Sarah’s scan confirmed she had a large cystic lesion in the head of the pancreas. Sarah had a severe form of hyperinsulinism and after having multidisciplinary team meeting involving a surgeon, radiologist, oncologist, and myself, we recommended undergoing surgery to remove the lesion in the head of the pancreas. Her hypoglycaemia became much milder after the major reconstructive pancreatic surgery, and can now be managed with feeds and medications.”

Professor De Coppi who led the surgery adds, “Sarah had a very rare lesion in a potentially very dangerous area of the pancreas, where the intestine, the liver, the pancreas and their vascular supplies all connect. It was a very challenging surgery but we are very pleased she has recovered well from the procedures. It is thanks to all the expertise present at GOSH that we can embark in such challenging procedures”.

Sarah stayed at GOSH for one year and three months to treat issues resulting from the severity of having hypoglycaemia during her first years. She required a multidisciplinary team at GOSH, who collaborated with specialists at other hospitals.                

“Sarah has been discharged and is currently stable from a blood glucose point of view. She is now home in Bahrain and is doing well with regular oral/ gastrostomy feeds. Sarah’s progress will continue to be monitored by GOSH in order to screen other issues stemming from her overgrowth   syndrome; her next review is in 6 months’ time. There is still a long way to go but the future is now looking brighter for Sarah and her family,” concludes Dr Shah.

Dr Pratik Shah

Dr Shah has trained in General Paediatrics and Paediatric Endocrinology in the United Kingdom and completed his PhD in the field of Congenital Hyperinsulinism.

With over 15 years of experience in Paediatrics, Dr Shah has published numerous articles in the field of Congenital Hyperinsulinism and presented in international and national meetings. He also works very closely with parent support groups (both in the UK and international) to promote awareness and education other professionals about this condition. Dr Shah also has a research team in UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health who aim to deliver high quality research in the area.

The Congenital Hyperinsulinism service

The Congenital Hyperinsulinism service is a highly specialised service at Great Ormond Street Hospital in the UK and is a well recognised internationally in managing Hyperinsulinaemic hypoglycaemia. Dr Shah lead this Congenital Hyperinsulinism service. The multi-disciplinary team includes doctors, hyperinsulinism specialist nurses, dietitians, speech and language therapists, psychologists, radiologists, surgeons, Histopathologists and biochemists.
Browse A-Z