Select your language close

مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت يغير حياة شقيقين فريدين من نوعهما من روسيا

فاسيلي وأرتيم مع البروفيسور مشتاق

فاسيلي (6) وشقيقه أرتيم (3)، هما شقيقان روسيان مميزان وفريدان من نوعهما. كلا منهما يعاني من حالة نادرة تسمى انقلاب المثانة للخارج، والتي تصيب مولودا واحدا من بين 50 ألف مولود. كلا الشقيقين احتاجا لمعالجة متخصصة لعلاج حالتهم، وبفضل دعم كريم من مؤسسة خيرية روسية تدعى "روز فند" وانجلوميديكال وهي مؤسسة طبية مقرها في بريطانيا، تمكنت العائلة من القدوم لمستشفى جريت اورموند ستريت للأطفال في لندن للخضوع لعمليات جراحية من شأنها تغيير حياتهم بإشراف استشاري أمراض المسالك البولية عند الأطفال الدكتور عمران مشتاق.

"المرة الأولى التي سمعت فيها عن حالة انقلاب المثانة للخارج كانت في عام 2012. كنت خائفة جدا. "تقول والدة الطفل ، ناديزدا. "قام الأطباء في قريتنا بفحص فاسيلي ولكن لم يعرف أحد ما الذي يجب فعله لأنه لم تمر عليهم حالة كهذه من قبل."

"قبل ثلاث سنوات، رزقنا بارتيم. عندما كنت حاملاً، قال الأطباء إنه بخير ولم يكن هناك شيء يدعو للقلق. ومع ذلك، عندما أنجبت أرتيم واستيقظت من التخدير، قيل لي أنه لديه نفس الحالة التي لدى فاسيلي. كان مخيفا جدا بالنسبة لي. كنت أشعر بالذعر، واعتقدت أن العالم كله قد ذهب مني. كأني كنت أغرق".

تلقى كل من فاسيلي وأرتيم العلاج في روسيا قبل قدومهما لمستشفى جريت اورموند ستريت. خضع فاسيلي لخمس عمليات جراحية بينما تم تحويل أرتيم لعدة مستشفيات. وتتذكر والدة الطفلان ما مروا به وتقول: "عندما بلغ أرتيم 15شهرا، ذهبنا به إلى موسكو. أعطوه حقنة في المثانة. قالوا لي بأن علي توسع المثانة إصبعي، لم أستطع فعل ذلك، كان مؤلما جدا بالنسبة له كما أنني شعرت بالألم لأجله"   

بالرغم من ذلك، في فصل الشتاء الماضي، أصبحت الأمور أكثر إيجابية للعائلة. "أخبرنا طبيب المسالك البولية في روسيا أنه من الممكن تحويلهم للبروفيسور مشتاق في مستشفى جريت اورموند ستريت.أخبرنا أن البروفيسور مشتاق كان طبيباً جيداً والوحيد الذي يمكنه مساعدتنا للقيام بالجراحة التي نحتاجها. لذا، قررت القدوم إلى لندن والحصول على المساعدة لأطفالي".

"انقلاب المثانة للخارج هو عيب خلقي يحدث عندما لا يتشكل الجلد فوق جدار البطن السفلي (الجزء السفلي من البطن) بشكل صحيح. المثانة مفتوحة ومنكشفة على الخارج من البطن". يشرح البروفيسور مشتاق. "من المرجح أن يؤثر تضخم المثانة على الأولاد أكثر من البنات، وهناك فرصة متزايدة لطفل ثانٍ يعاني من هذه الحالة إذا كان أحد أطفالك يعاني من هذه الحالة بالفعل".

عادة ما يحتاج الأطفال الذين يعانون من انقلاب المثانة للخارج إلى عملية إصلاح جدار المثانة والبطن بعد أيام قليلة من الولادة بحيث يتم وضع المثانة بشكل صحيح في الجسم. بعد العملية، يستخرج البول من المثانة خلال القسطرة. وبعد أن يبلغ الطفل من عام إلى عامين، فإنه يحتاج إلى عملية جراحية إضافية تسمى "كيلي"، وهي إعادة بناء الأنسجة اللينة لرقبة المثانة. هذا يسمح للأطفال ليصبحوا أكثر راحة.

"أرتيم ، الأخ الأصغر، كان لديه محاولة للعلاج في روسيا ولكن فشلت فقمنا بإعادة إغلاق  المثانة. في الوقت الحالي، تعافى أرتيم بشكل جيد للغاية في مستشفى جريت اورموند ستريت وخلال عام واحد تقريبًا سيحتاج إلى عملية كيلي. ”يقول البروفيسور مشتاق. "لقد نجح فاسيلي في الإغلاق بنجاح وبعد ذلك خضع لعملية "كيلي" قبل حوالي 6 سنوات في روسيا. على الرغم من النتيجة الممتازة  لعملية كيلي ، إلا أن مثانته لم تزداد حجماً. لهذا السبب، لديه الآن عملية تكبير المثانة تسمى زيادة المثانة. سوف يكون فاسيلي بحالة أفضل بعد هذه العملية، لكنه سيحتاج إلى إفراغ مثانته بواسطة قسطرة كل ثلاث إلى أربع ساعات».

تقول ناديزدا: "البروفيسور مشتاق طبيب جيد جداً. "إنه يعتني بمرضاه على نحو جيد جدا. نحن نؤمن به كثيراً، وأستطيع أن أرى أنه واثق جداً وخبير فيما يفعل لأن نتائج الجراحة مذهلة. لم أر قط طبيبًا مثل هذا من قبل. إنني أتمنى حقًا أن يأتي أطفال آخرون يعانون من مشكلة بولية صعبة للغاية ليحصلوا على العلاج من البروفيسور مشتاق.".

“خلال إقامتنا في مستشفى جريت اورموند ستريت، كان الجميع يعتنون بنا بشكل جيد للغاية. جريت اورموند ستريت هو مستشفى جميل جدا الجميع يرحب بك وتشعر بالدفئ خلال اقامتك فيه. شكرا جزيلا لمؤسسة روز فند الذين قاموا بتمويل علاج أبنائي وجعل كل شيء ممكنا لهم. كما أود أن أشكر المتطوعين من مجتمع الكنيسة الروسية في لندن وأنجلوميديكال، الذين دعمونا خلال رحلتنا ".

واستطردت الأم قائلة: "فاسيلي وأرتيم قريبان جدًا من بعضهما البعض ولا يمكنهما العيش بدون بعضهما البعض. انهم يحبون اللعب بمكعبات ليجو و دائما يتشاركا اللعب معا. هما اجتماعيان ويثقان بالأطفال الآخرين جدا. كشقيق أكبر سنا، تجد فاسيلي يتسم بالشجاعة ودائما يرفه عن أرتيم. عندما ذهب إلى الجراحة، كان هادئًا جدًا ومؤمنا أن كل شيء سيكون على ما يرام. شعرت بالسعادة عندما قال فاسيلي أنه يريد أن يصبح طبيباً ليساعد الأطفال ".

"بالنسبة للمستقبل، أتمنى أن يكون لأطفالي نفس المستقبل والفرص مثل أي شخص آخر. آمل أن يتمكنوا من النمو كغيرهم، معتزين بنفسهم ولا يقلل أحد من شأنهم. أنا مسرورة للغاية لأن فاسيلي بلغ السابعة من عمره في شهر سبتمبر، لذا أصبح من الممكن إرسالها إلى المدرسة كطالب جديد."

استشاري أمراض المسالك البولية عند الأطفال

استشاري أمراض المسالك البولية للأطفال

بدأ البروفيسور عمران مشتاق، استشاري أمراض المسالك البولية لدى الأطفال بمستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت (GOSH) وكبير المحاضرين في معهد صحة الطفل، لندن، مسيرته المهنية كطبيب مسالك بولية للأطفال في عام 2001. وقد قام بدور رائد في جراحة المسالك البولية في لندن ويعتبر على نطاق واسع واحد من الجراحين بالمنظار الرائد في المملكة المتحدة ، مع خبرة في تقنيات استئصال الكلية، واستئصال الكلية الجزئي، استئصال الغدة الكظرية، والجراحة الروبوتية. يمتلك البروفيسور مشتاق اهتماما متخصصا في المسالك البولية الترميمية، ويشمل ذلك البواسير القلاعية، واضطرابات النمو الجنسي، والمثانة العصبية والمثانة والاسفنج.

أنجلوميديكال

أنجلوميديكال (AngloMedical) هي مؤسسة رائدة في السوق في تنظيم العلاج الطبي على مستوى عالمي للمغتربين الذين يعيشون في المملكة المتحدة والعملاء في الخارج من روسيا وأوكرانيا وكازاخستان والشرق الأوسط والصين. يقدمون الاستشارات والحجز والترجمة والمساعدة في التأشيرات والإقامة. اضافة إلى الاستشارات والعلاج مع كبار الأطباء في أفضل المستشفيات الخاصة في لندن. هم متخصصون في مساعدة المرضى الذين يتوقعون أعلى المعايير في الرعاية الصحية الشخصية والتكنولوجيا التشخيصية والطبية الحديثة.
In English: http://www.anglomedical.com/en/
In Russian: http://www.anglomedical.com/ru/

فاسيلي يلعب بمكعبات ليجو في جناح كاتربيلر
فاسيلي يلعب بمكعبات ليجو في جناح كاتربيلر
أرتيم ووالدته

Select your language close

GOSH transforms the lives of two special brothers from Russia

Vasilii and Artem with Prof Imran Mushtaq

Six-year-old Vasilii and three-year-old Artem are two unique and special brothers from Russia. Both Vasilii and Artem have the same rare and complex condition called bladder exstrophy, which affects only one in 50,000 births. Both brothers needed expert treatment to manage their condition, and with the support of a Russian charity called Rusfond and Anglomedical, a medical concierge based in the UK, the family came to Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children (GOSH) in London for life-changing surgeries with Professor Imran Mushtaq, Consultant Paediatric Urologist.

“I first learnt about bladder exstrophy in 2012, when Vasilii was born. I was very scared.” The boy’s mother, Nadezhda, says. “The doctors in our village looked at Vasilii but no one knew what to do as they never seen it before.”

 “Three years ago, I had Artem. When I was pregnant, the doctors said he was fine and there was nothing to worry about. However, when I gave birth to Artem and woke up from the general anaesthesia, I was told he had the same condition as Vasilii. It was very scary for me. I was panicking, and I thought the whole world has gone from me. I was drowning.”

Both Vasilii and Artem received treatment in Russia before coming to GOSH. Vasilii had five surgeries and Artem was transferred to different hospitals. “When Artem was 15-month old, we went Moscow with him. They gave him the injection in the bladder. They told me that I need to stretch the bladder with my finger, I couldn’t do that. It was very painful for him physically and for me emotionally.” Nadezhda remembers.

However, last winter, things became more positive for the family. “A urologist in Russia advised us that we could be referred to Prof. Mushtaq at GOSH. He told us that Prof. Mushtaq was a very good doctor and the only one who can help us to do the surgery we need. So, I decided to go to London and get help for my children.”

“Bladder exstrophy is a congenital abnormality that occurs when the skin over the lower abdominal wall (bottom part of the tummy) does not form properly. The bladder is open and exposed on the outside of the abdomen.” Professor Mushtaq explains. “Bladder exstrophy is more likely to affect boys than girls, and there is an increased chance of a second child having bladder exstrophy if one of your children already has the condition.”  

Normally children with bladder exstrophy need a bladder and abdominal wall repair operation a few days after birth so that the bladder positioned correctly in the body. After the operation, urine drains from the bladder through catheters. Then once a child is one to two years old, they require an additional surgery called the Kelly Procedure, which is a soft tissue reconstruction of the bladder neck. This allows children to become continent.

“Artem, the younger brother, has had an attempt at repair in Russia which failed so we have done a redo closure of the bladder. Currently, Artem has recovered very well at GOSH and in about one year he will require a Kelly operation.” Professor Mushtaq says. “Vasilii had a successful closure and then had a Kelly Procedure done about 6 years ago in Russia. Despite an excellent result from the Kelly operation, his bladder did not increase in size and he remained incontinent. For this reason, he has now had a bladder enlargement operation called a bladder augmentation. Vasilii will be completely continent after this operation but will need to empty bladder with a catheter every three to four hours.”

“Professor Mushtaq is a very good and kind doctor,” Nadezhda says. “He looks after his patients very well. We believe in him very much and I can see that he is very confident and experienced because the results of the surgery are just amazing. I have never seen a doctor like this before. I really wish other children who are suffering from a very difficult urological condition come here to get treatment with the Professor Mushtaq.”

 “During our stay at GOSH, everyone looked after us very well. GOSH is a very beautiful, warm and welcoming hospital. A huge thank you to Rusfond who funded my sons' treatment and made it all possible for them. I also want to thank the volunteers from the Russian church community in London and Anglomedical, who supported us during our journey.”

Mum continues: “Vasilii and Artem are very close to each other and they can’t live without each other. They love Lego very much and always share toys together. They are very outgoing and trusting children. As the older brother, Vasilii is very brave and cheers Artem up. When he went to surgery, he was very calm and believed everything will be ok. I was so pleased when Vasilii said that he wants to become a doctor to help children”.

“For the future, I wish my children have the same future and opportunities as everybody else. I hope that they can grow into adults, define themselves and no one underestimates them. I am so pleased that next September, Vasilii would become seven-year-old so we will send him to school as a new student.”

Consultant Paediatric Urologist

Consultant Paediatric Urologist

Professor Imran Mushtaq, Consultant Paediatric Urologist at Great Ormond Street Hospital (GOSH) and Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Child Health, London, started his career as a Paediatric Urologist in 2001. He pioneered minimally invasive urological surgery in London and is widely regarded as one of the leading laparoscopic surgeons in the UK, with expertise in the techniques of nephrectomy, partial nephrectomy, adrenalectomy, pyeloplasty and robotic surgery. Professor Mushtaq has a specialist interest in reconstructive urology, comprising hypospadias, disorders of sex development, neuropathic bladder and bladder exstrophy and epispadias.

AngloMedical

AngloMedical are the market leader in organising world class medical treatment for expats living in the UK and overseas clients from Russia, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Middle East and China. We provide consulting, booking, interpreting and assistance with visas and accommodation. We arrange consultations and treatment with top medical professionals in best private hospitals in London. We specialise in helping patients who expect the highest standards in personalised healthcare and state-of-the-art diagnostic and medical technology.

Vasili playing lego at Caterpillar
Vasili playing lego at Caterpillar
Artem and his mother
Browse A-Z